FacebookTwitter
Hatrack River Forum   
my profile login | search | faq | forum home

next oldest topic   next newest topic
» Hatrack River Forum » Active Forums » Books, Films, Food and Culture » First time teacher

Author Topic: First time teacher
LongTimeReader
unregistered

- posted            Edit/Delete Post 
Hi everyone,
Recently I was offered the opportunity to teach a course this fall semester at the university where I am currently a history graduate student. This is, quite literally, a dream come true. But its also quite... scary, for lack of a better word. I didn't think I would be teaching for at least another year, possibly two, but it turns out I am pretty much the only one in the department both qualified and available.

So I'm nervous. I also feel like I am perhaps slightly out of touch with students today. Even when I was an undergrad I actually enjoyed learning and did the work, which I'm guessing I should not take for granted in most of my students. So I'm looking for some advice. What are some characteristics of teachers or teaching styles or methods that worked really well for you as a student? What was something you always wanted to tell your teacher never to do with another class? Really, any help at all I would appreciate.

The class is History of Science. It is a junior level course that fills requirements for a lot of different majors, so it's not just going to be history majors. Right now there are over 100 people registered. Edit: The course is three days a week, 50 minutes per class.

Also, I will be taking a full course load as well, so I won't have time to do everything.

Thanks for any help! [Smile]

[ July 27, 2010, 10:26 AM: Message edited by: LongTimeReader ]

IP: Logged | Report this post to a Moderator
katharina
Member # 827

- posted      Profile for katharina   Email katharina         Edit/Delete Post 
Are you going to be writing the lectures (content) for this course?