FacebookTwitter
Hatrack River Forum   
my profile login | search | faq | forum home

next oldest topic   next newest topic
» Hatrack River Forum » Active Forums » Books, Films, Food and Culture » How do you play...

Author Topic: How do you play...
Jeesh
Member # 9163

- posted      Profile for Jeesh           Edit/Delete Post 
... an arpegio? On Monday, my band conductor wants everyone to play an arpegio on the B flat concert scale, the B flat concert scale in whole notes, triplets, intervals, and eighth notes. I switched from trumpet to tuba three weeks ago, and I'm still learning the fingerings. Does any one know how to play an arpegio?
Posts: 1164 | Registered: Feb 2006  |  IP: Logged | Report this post to a Moderator
T_Smith
Member # 3734

- posted      Profile for T_Smith   Email T_Smith         Edit/Delete Post 
The only thing arpegio brings to mind is the AristoCats. So um... sing that song from the AristoCats with B flat as the first note and see what happens.
Posts: 9754 | Registered: Jul 2002  |  IP: Logged | Report this post to a Moderator
sarcasticmuppet
Member # 5035

- posted      Profile for sarcasticmuppet   Email sarcasticmuppet         Edit/Delete Post 
I *think* it goes like this:

base note (in this case B flat)
major third
perfect fifth
octave
third *down*
fifth *down*
base note

arpegios can get more complicated than that, though. Don't be afraid to ask your director if you're confused. [Smile]

Posts: 4089 | Registered: Apr 2003  |  IP: Logged | Report this post to a Moderator
aragorn64
Member # 4204

- posted      Profile for aragorn64   Email aragorn64         Edit/Delete Post 
Essentially you just play the first, third, fifth, and last step of the scale.

So...in B Flat concert you would play B flat, D, F, B flat. And then go back down the same way.

Posts: 290 | Registered: Sep 2002  |  IP: Logged | Report this post to a Moderator
Jeesh
Member # 9163

- posted      Profile for Jeesh           Edit/Delete Post 
Thanks!