FacebookTwitter
Hatrack River Forum   
my profile login | search | faq | forum home

next oldest topic   next newest topic
» Hatrack River Forum » Active Forums » Books, Films, Food and Culture » InDesign question

Author Topic: InDesign question
Uprooted
Member # 8353

- posted      Profile for Uprooted   Email Uprooted         Edit/Delete Post 
Actually, this may be a question for anyone who knows more about design and printing than I do, I don't know that it's really specific to InDesign.

I'm in over my head, but committed to laying out a book on Adobe InDesign CS on my PC. I am NOT a designer, and have barely learned enough to insert text and pictures and use master pages to create headers and page numbers.

The text of my document is Book Antiqua. The text portion of the document was created in Word.

The thing is, when I print the document, the text comes out looking different than it did in Word and than it does on screen. I just have an inkjet printer, so I know it's not the same as getting a proof from the printer. But I don't like the look of the text printed from InDesign to my printer. It almost looks like there's been a font change, or like the letters have been stretched out--it's very subtle, but there's a definite difference in the shape of the letters.

However, when I make a PDF file out of it and print that, the text looks the way I want it to--the way it looks on the computer screen and the way it printed from Word.

Is this a printer driver issue? Or what? Sorry, for this long post, I know I should go to some technical forum but I thought I'd try here first to see if anyone has any tips for me.

(edited to fix an inexplicably weird typo)

Posts: 3149 | Registered: Jul 2005  |  IP: Logged | Report this post to a Moderator
narrativium
Member # 3230

- posted      Profile for narrativium           Edit/Delete Post 
Could be a postscript issue. I'll ask my mom if she knows when she gets back.