FacebookTwitter
Hatrack River Forum   
my profile login | search | faq | forum home

next oldest topic   next newest topic
» Hatrack River Forum » Active Forums » Books, Films, Food and Culture » Java: Learning

Author Topic: Java: Learning
Phanto
Member # 5897

- posted      Profile for Phanto           Edit/Delete Post 
I plan on learning Java. Well, bully for me. Now to do it...

So I'm looking for a method of learning. Probably a book. Now the problem is I have no idea what kind of book is good. As such:

What Java learning aids would the people here recommend?

Thanks greatly in advance [Smile] .

Posts: 3060 | Registered: Nov 2003  |  IP: Logged | Report this post to a Moderator
Jay
Member # 5786

- posted      Profile for Jay   Email Jay         Edit/Delete Post 
What languages do you know? I guess if you’re a total beginner you’d need a different tool then someone who knows C++ or other object oriented languages.
Posts: 2845 | Registered: Oct 2003  |  IP: Logged | Report this post to a Moderator
King of Men
Member # 6684

- posted      Profile for King of Men   Email King of Men         Edit/Delete Post 
Indeed. If you already know some programming, then you should disregard this advice. But if you're new, I think you would find it helpful to think of a nice little project that you want to do, and look at your Java resources as aids towards that. A Langton's Ant sim, maybe - you can make cool variants on that. Or Conway's game of Life, again with variants. Or maybe a Tetris clone, if oyu feel ambitious.
Posts: 10645 | Registered: Jul 2004  |  IP: Logged | Report this post to a Moderator
Phanto
Member # 5897

Ummm... I know some html? *feels really stupid [Razz] *
Posts: 3060 | Registered: Nov 2003  |  IP: Logged | Report this post to a Moderator
Farmgirl
Member # 5567

- posted      Profile for Farmgirl   Email Farmgirl         Edit/Delete Post 
Hang out at Java Ranch for a great place to get started and people who can help.

FG