FacebookTwitter
Hatrack River Forum   
my profile login | search | faq | forum home

next oldest topic   next newest topic
» Hatrack River Forum » Active Forums » Books, Films, Food and Culture » Deciding Whether to Change Jobs: To Teach or Not to Teach

Author Topic: Deciding Whether to Change Jobs: To Teach or Not to Teach
Katarain
Member # 6659

- posted      Profile for Katarain   Email Katarain         Edit/Delete Post 
As some of you know, I used to be a teacher. After teaching for only two years, I needed to take some time off. I was afraid that I would just continue teaching for years, when it might be something that I wasn't sure I wanted to do for the rest of my life. My first year had been hell, but my second year was alright. I had made some vast improvements. But still, 3 years ago I decided to go to graduate school full-time, and stop being a teacher for a while. I was hoping that going to graduate school would give me lots of time to decide whether or not I wanted to go back to teaching.

I ended up not taking a full-load, since 2 classes at once took a lot of time and was really hard! My first year, I helped to teach a college ENGL 1101 class, so I still got some teaching in. After that, I got the job I have now, working full time at the university library.

I don't make a lot of money here, but our expenses have recently gone down--not by much, but it will be slightly easier to get by now. If we were able to buy a small house sometime soon, our expenses will go down even more, since our rent is so high (and it doesn't include utilities).

I've been negative about teaching sometimes in the last three years, especially when I hear other people talk about their struggles teaching. So one would think, why would I consider going back, since we can scrape by on my current salary?