FacebookTwitter
Hatrack River Forum   
my profile login | search | faq | forum home

next oldest topic   next newest topic
» Hatrack River Forum » Active Forums » Books, Films, Food and Culture » Curse these bureaucrats!

Author Topic: Curse these bureaucrats!
King of Men
Member # 6684

- posted      Profile for King of Men   Email King of Men         Edit/Delete Post 
Now, I have a driver's license. A perfectly good one issued by the sovereign Kingdom of Norway, which is hardly a banana republic even if 35% of our exports are petroleum products. It is valid to 2079, and I've been driving for 7 years with only one minor bumper-bender accident. So I'm a little annoyed by having to take another test. But I could live with that.

What really annoys me is when I can't get an appointment to take the damn test! I've been calling six different counties to try to set up a time, and every last one of them is giving me the busy signal, five times in a row now. You would think, if their traffic is that high, they might set up a waiting list or something; being told you are number 1337 in the queue and they thank you for your patience is bad enough, but that cursed busy beep is even worse.

[Mad] [Grumble] [Mad]

Posts: 10645 | Registered: Jul 2004  |  IP: Logged | Report this post to a Moderator
Bob_Scopatz
Member # 1227

- posted      Profile for Bob_Scopatz   Email Bob_Scopatz         Edit/Delete Post 
Where are you?

Most states (in the US) have a website where you can get information on driver licensing requirements and times. They all have walk-in testing and most (but not all) have appointments as well.

My advice is to find out what you'll need in terms of identification in order to obtain a license. If you think you're frustrated now, just wait until you've gone and waited only to find that they don't consider your papers sufficient proof of identity.

Things are a lot tighter (here in the US) than ever before.