FacebookTwitter
Hatrack River Forum   
my profile login | search | faq | forum home

next oldest topic   next newest topic
» Hatrack River Forum » Active Forums » Books, Films, Food and Culture » ***UPDATE***Those that are Picky, help me choose my first Axe...(Well, I did)

Author Topic: ***UPDATE***Those that are Picky, help me choose my first Axe...(Well, I did)
Alucard...
Member # 4924

- posted      Profile for Alucard...   Email Alucard...         Edit/Delete Post 
OK, I am potentially in the market for a new electric guitar. I currently have an Ovation acoustic, a few saxophones, and drums and a keyboard laying around the house.

One thing that I have learned, especially with saxophones, is that I am not really interested in a "student" or "beginner" model when it comes to buying an electic.

The problem is that I have no experience whatsoever with what I need to accessorize either, and I want to avoid buying all this gear that I will end up replacing in a year. I plan on trying to play almost nothing but rock, not blues or jazz or any other styles.

If I had to throw out a few names, I love the Gibson Les Paul Studio and the Fender Stratocasters are nice too, but have never played either. I most likely will make a mecca to the nearest Guitar Center and see what they have before I make any serious decision, but I was hoping all Hatrack Guitarists could give me some sound advice (get it, "sound" har har!).

As far as accessories, I plan on getting a nice amp and have seen and heard this cool little box that Joe Satriani uses to sound so darn cool. I NEED one of those badly...

Help!

[ May 19, 2005, 08:32 PM: Message edited by: Alucard... ]

Posts: 1870 | Registered: Mar 2003  |  IP: Logged | Report this post to a Moderator
TMedina
Member # 6649

- posted      Profile for TMedina   Email TMedina         Edit/Delete Post 
Oh...right.

-Trevor

Posts: 5413 | Registered: Jun 2004  |  IP: Logged | Report this post to a Moderator
FlyingCow
Member # 2150