FacebookTwitter
Hatrack River Forum   
my profile login | search | faq | forum home

next oldest topic   next newest topic
» Hatrack River Forum » Active Forums » Books, Films, Food and Culture » Computer Techies of Hatrack, Help?

Author Topic: Computer Techies of Hatrack, Help?
Xavier
Member # 405

- posted      Profile for Xavier   Email Xavier         Edit/Delete Post 
Yes I am a software engineer and have a computer science degree, but the fields of programming and actual tech support are miles apart. I know very little about how to troubleshoot a computer.

That out of the way, here is the scoop. We are now setting up internet at our new apartment. We got Cox high speed internet service, with a "quick-install" kit along with a brand new cable modem.

I have had trouble hooking up the internet to my computer through someones ethernet connection, so I decided to try going the USB route.

So I connect the modem to my computer (after setting up the modem as instructed) through a USB cable. My computer (I use Windows XP Pro) brought up the screen that says it can find the software for the new hardware automatically. I take it up on the offer, it finds it and it says the new hardware has been installed.

All the appropriate lights on the modem are okay, so I open Mozilla. Nothing.

I load up the disk that came with the modem, and run through the guided installation thingy. It takes me through how to connect the cables and such, and I have already done this part. So it gets to a point where it says that it is attempting to connect the modem to the computer. It sits there for 5+ minutes before giving up and asking me to check the cables (they are all tight).