FacebookTwitter
Hatrack River Forum   
my profile login | search | faq | forum home

next oldest topic   next newest topic
» Hatrack River Forum » Active Forums » Books, Films, Food and Culture » Help the maths idiot with his market-research! Fun for the whole family!

Author Topic: Help the maths idiot with his market-research! Fun for the whole family!
Troubadour
Member # 83

- posted      Profile for Troubadour   Email Troubadour         Edit/Delete Post 
Or maybe not.

If I was to say that a market had grown from 7 businesses to 15 in a certain period of time, what percentage growth does that show?

And how would you work it out?

I really wish I'd paid attention in school. But hey, I'm a musician. Sue me, but you won't get much money. [Wink]

[ May 27, 2004, 08:17 AM: Message edited by: Troubadour ]

Posts: 2245 | Registered: Nov 1998  |  IP: Logged | Report this post to a Moderator
HollowEarth
Member # 2586

- posted      Profile for HollowEarth   Email HollowEarth         Edit/Delete Post 
I'm not a business person but I don't think thats how growth is usually given. Don't people usually say that the market has grown by $X.xx amount and in this time y new business opened?

Directly though: 7*x = 15 => 15/7*100 = growth. Evaluation is left as an exercise for the student (mostly because sevenths are ugly.)

Posts: 1621 | Registered: Oct 2001  |  IP: Logged | Report this post to a Moderator
Dagonee
Member # 5818

- posted      Profile for Dagonee           Edit/Delete Post 
The growth is 15-7=8.

Percentage growth is growth divided by original size, of 8/7 = 1.1428 = 114.28%

Posts: 26071 | Registered: Oct 2003  |  IP: Logged | Report this post to a Moderator
Dagonee
Member # 5818

- posted      Profile for Dagonee           Edit/Delete Post 
HE, you need to subtract a one in there - then it works out the same as my formula.

You're calculation gives the percentage of the original that the new value is, not the percentage of growth.