FacebookTwitter
Hatrack River Forum   
my profile login | search | faq | forum home

next oldest topic   next newest topic
» Hatrack River Forum » Active Forums » Books, Films, Food and Culture » Look! I did it myself this time!!!!! I ROCK!

Author Topic: Look! I did it myself this time!!!!! I ROCK!
Synesthesia
Member # 4774

- posted      Profile for Synesthesia   Email Synesthesia         Edit/Delete Post 
Here I am trying to work on this phone interview. This is for the same place as before, only with a different person. So I am trying to write the answers for some of these questions in advanced.

Tell me about yourself-
My name is Shondolyn Gibson. I am a 25-year-old recent college graduate looking to advance my career.
I graduated from St. Lawrence University in the year 2000. I majored in English writing. From September 2001-July 2002 I worked as a volunteer at Leaps in Literacy, an Americorps organization in Brockton, MA. I tutored second and third graders in reading.

What are your goals?

Why should we hire you?
My previous experience in the Americorps makes me an ideal candidate, as well as my love of children’s literature and my ability to think of innovative ideas on the spot. I can offer ReadBoston and unique perspective.

Why do you want to work for this company?
ReadBoston’s emphasis on community as a means of abolishing illiteracy in children below 3rd grade level appeals to me on many levels. I admire the way teachers, volunteers, and even corporations are banding together to try to prevent illiteracy. I would like to be a part of that.

Can you explain this gap in your employment?
I spent that year in the process of trying to find a new job as well as working on several stories, poems and essays.

Why are you applying for an Americorps job instead of a non profit job?

Do you have any questions?

· what obstacles the organization anticipates in meeting its goals
· how the organization's goals have changed over the past three to five years.