FacebookTwitter
Hatrack River Forum   
my profile login | search | faq | forum home

next oldest topic   next newest topic
» Hatrack River Forum » Active Forums » Books, Films, Food and Culture » Long Lost Friends

Author Topic: Long Lost Friends
Papa Moose
Member # 1992

- posted      Profile for Papa Moose   Email Papa Moose         Edit/Delete Post 
In the past three days, I've been contacted by two different people from whom I hadn't heard in many, many years.

The first found me through Classmates.com. I had a crush on her back around the time I graduated high school, and had asked her to marry me, though in a "we're going out" sense rather than a legal one. She's still down in San Diego, but moving to Texas in a matter of months, and wanted to reconnect with some old friends before she left. The last we talked, as far as we can recall, was in 1990.

The second, I think, found me through Hatrack. I had introduced him to OSC (via Ender's Game) back when we both worked at ComedySportz in Santa Barbara (he an actlete, I the house manager). He read about a Michael Sloan with the nickname Papa Moose, and assumed it likely that it was me (I just went by Moose back then, since I didn't yet have kids). Since he e-mailed me, I assume he came here and looked at my profile to get my e-mail address. I probably last spoke with him in 1994 or 1995.

Both started with questions. The friend from school asked if I remembered who she was (I did). The friend from ComedySportz asked if I was the right Moose (I am). Actually he just sent me another e-mail, and he's thinking that his (presumably) son who is due in six weeks may now, in honor of my trivia contest performance about which he just read, be named "Adam Moose King." I'm about to write back and suggest that this may not be the best idea he's ever had.