FacebookTwitter
Hatrack River Forum   
my profile login | search | faq | forum home

next oldest topic   next newest topic
» Hatrack River Forum » Active Forums » Books, Films, Food and Culture » Good books/series for learning a language

Author Topic: Good books/series for learning a language
DanielW2
Member # 5861

- posted      Profile for DanielW2   Email DanielW2         Edit/Delete Post 
I am spending too much time procrastinating. I have found that the only way to stop myself doing this is to fill all my time with meaningful, useful tasks. So I've decided to learn a language. I'm leaning towards Spanish, but if anyone wants to plug their own particular favourite I'm listening. Basically, if anyone knows a good book for an absolute beginner not in a language class to learn from, I'd be very grateful for a recommendation.
Posts: 20 | Registered: Oct 2003  |  IP: Logged | Report this post to a Moderator
ana kata
Member # 5666

- posted      Profile for ana kata   Email ana kata         Edit/Delete Post 
Spanish is a very good language to learn. The way I have found that's fun (I took 2 years of high school Spanish but I think this would work for absolute beginners as well) is to buy kids' books in Spanish (the ones without translation are the best) and read them.

1) The pictures help you figure out what is being said.

2) They're available at all levels from absolute beginners on up.

3) You can take your time reading and pondering. Spoken Spanish is very hard for the beginner to follow (either on TV or in conversation) because it goes by so quickly. While I was pondering the meaning of one phrase, the speaker would already be two sentences ahead of me.

4) Many of the stories are already familiar, making it even easier to guess the meaning.

5) This is how you learned to read and write English, basically. It's the easiest most intuitive way to learn.