FacebookTwitter
Hatrack River Forum   
my profile login | search | faq | forum home

next oldest topic   next newest topic
» Hatrack River Forum » Active Forums » Books, Films, Food and Culture » Has anyone here ever bicycled across the US?

Author Topic: Has anyone here ever bicycled across the US?
Lalo
Member # 3772

- posted      Profile for Lalo   Email Lalo         Edit/Delete Post 
I'm looking into a bike trip from LA to NY. Hopefully, I'll be able to stop off and visit the Hatrackers in the middle states -- but it all depends on what route I take.

I'm not nearly suicidal enough to head across Nevada, Arizona, and the Southwest in general. I'm thinking a route up the Pacific coast to Oregon, then heading across from there. Maybe I'll even escape the States from Michigan and enter New York from Canada.

My only problem is that I'm a complete novice when it comes to bicycling. I don't think I've done it since elementary school. I figure I'll learn as I go along, but that attitude won't help me when it comes to the crap I'll have to bring along with me. I.e. a sleeping bag, a tent if I can fit it, water, a wallet, and god knows what else. I'm fairly certain I can't bike with a backpack on, so I could really use some advice from people who've done this before.

Cough. Irami. Cough.

Also, if anyone knows a smarter route than the one I've tentatively proposed, I'd appreciate hearing it.

Posts: 3293 | Registered: Jul 2002  |  IP: Logged | Report this post to a Moderator
msquared
Member # 4484

- posted      Profile for msquared   Email msquared         Edit/Delete Post 
Hey if you decide to come through Southern Ohio let me know. I am sure you could camp in my back yard for a night. Or, if I convice the wife, even sleep on a bed or something.

If you plan it right next summer you could make OrneryCon III. [Smile]

msquared

Posts: 1907 | Registered: Jan 2003  |  IP: Logged | Report this post to a Moderator
BannaOj
Member # 3206